Homemade Gifts by Jen

Ok so I know we are still in the month of October….and Halloween has yet to arrive. But I will proudly say I have finished a Christmas gift for my parents. It may be early but have you browsed Target lately? Christmas everywhere! A few years ago I decided I wanted to get into scrapbooking. I dabbled in it a bit and soon became hooked. Ok, addicted if you will…$200 at a scrapbook store I think qualifys as addiction! It’s something I find allows my own creativity to run wild. I start each page without a plan and somehow, page after page, it all comes together. Yesterday the masterpiece was completed. I won’t tell you how many hours I spent sprawled on my bed cutting, glueing and rearranging. Had it not been for the many reruns on the Food Network to keep me company Im not sure I’d be done so soon.

200419192-001

When I was a little girl I used to make my parents gifts for their birthdays, etc. I’d make homemade cards that I stamped the back as “Jen-Mark”. Later in my teens I grew out of such a habit, buying a card and gift seemed much more convient as a curious, busy teenager. After years of giving the same person a gift you begin to wonder what more they could want?! I rewinded back to those child years. A scrapbook of ME, from birth to graduation, seemed like the most memorable gift to give. I can’t wait to see my parents reaction in a couple months. I guess that’s the price I must now pay for getting a bit ahead of the holiday season…waiting!

Have you ever made a homemade gift for someone?

One thought on “Homemade Gifts by Jen

Leave a Reply

