Change by Jen

Happy Sunday! It’s a beautiful day here in the South. Like Megan mentioned in her las post, we don’t start to get cool(er) weather until later in October. So… If that’s the case then why in the world do I have a cold? I believe the hot, humid air allows the cold virus to breed even more rapidly. Sure enough, Thursday my throat started to hurt a bit and Friday the sickness took full force. I can’t recall the last time I was sick with a cold, I believe I was a young girl, early teens maybe. Yes, it’s been that long. You’ve heard the say “when it rains, it pours”- that’s how my body reacts to sickness. I rarely get sick but when I do it’s full blown. There is one upside to having a voice that can hardly whisper due to a very sore throat……Β 

vanilla-icecream_300

Icecream!!!! My favorite kind, vanilla!!! Stoneyfield ranks top of my list too- with all natural ingredients, none of that high fructose corn syrup. It soothes the throat ever so well!

Changes. How well do you cope? Do you follow your heart or listen to others? I admit many of the events in my life have been a result of listening to others-what they think is best for me. I often let that lead my decisions. To be quite honest though, I end up unhappy. It’s taken me a while to learn that I just need to follow my own heart. We can’t make everyone happy, even those close to us. My in laws tend to think they know exactly how I should live my life and what I should do, anything otherwise isn’t good. In their eyes. Not mine. The thing is, we are each unique in our own ways. What makes out heart burn with passion won’t be the same for others. After highschool I just followed suit and did what others wanted me to.Β  Here I am, mid 20’s, unhappy in my own career but unhappy with what the family wanted me to pursue again my quest to return to school again. The past week went from being literally depressed at the thought of doing something again that would leave me unhappy into my 30’s in a career that was lead by not my own heart. I couldn’t do it again. So, long story short, I am returning to school to pursue elementary education. I am quite happy. πŸ™‚Β 

back_to_school_banner

Are you following your heart? If not, what’s stopping you?

4 thoughts on “Change by Jen

  1. ice cream is officially the only redeeming thing about being sick πŸ™‚ oh, and being pampered by the fam!

    i used to have a lot of trouble coping with changes — but through my recovery i’ve learned that it’s an essential part of life — change helps us to grow, to develop, to learn to adapt.. slowly but surely i’m learning to welcome change in to my life!

    i am SO proud of you for deciding to change paths in your career — an elementry school teacher will be so rewarding for you and i know you will genuinly enjoy it! best of luck hun πŸ™‚

  2. I love Stonyfield ice cream! Er, fro-yo. I’ve only had the “After” Dark chocolate… it’s so good, though! I also want to try the Chai… have you had that one?

    Woohoo for going back to school! I’m so happy for you, lady.

    Get well soon!

Leave a Reply

