thankful thursday by megan

Good morning! This morning has been slow, but packed with goodies! I am so thankful for mornings like these! I woke up and read some Romans, ate some waffles with Mighty Maple peanut butter and blueberries, drank my coffee, checked blogs, and watched Regis & Kelly. And, now I am here 🙂 Yoga is next.

IMG_7766

Last night for dinner I made a Mushroom and Grueyre Quiche. It was a Whole Foods recipe I got from the Whole Foods Recipe app on my iTouch. Love that app, by the way! I’ve got another recipe from the app planned for Sunday, too!

So I started by roasting button mushrooms, portobello caps (that I diced), and half of a yellow onion seasoned with salt, pepper, and extra virgin olive oil. 15 minutes at 400 degrees F.

IMG_7754These smelled so good while roasting, by the way!

When these were done roasting I mixed them with 4 oz. of Gruyere that I grated before hand. I love Gruyere! I love all cheese, actually.

IMG_7755

I also whisked together 2 eggs, 1/2 cup of 2% milk (opted against using heavy cream like the recipe called for), and some thyme.

IMG_7756

And then I layered the mushroom, onion, & cheese mixture on the bottom of a pre-baked pie shell and poured the cream mixture on top.

IMG_7757

Popped it in the oven for around 45 to 50 minutes at 350 degrees F and voila!

IMG_7758

Quite pretty, eh?

IMG_7760Look at those mushrooms! This quiche was very delicious and was a huge hit with my family too. I love mushrooms and this quiche was full of them. And it was so easy to make, but it was time consuming. I started prepping at 5:00 and it was not ready until about 7:00. It was worth the wait though!

Okay, so I am off to my matthankfully. I have a Physique 57 DVD appointment with Lizzy at 4:30 and then possibly going to help a friend babysit later tonight…depending on my energy level!

Happy Thursday!!

2 thoughts on “thankful thursday by megan

  1. whole foods has an app?! too.funny! glad it came in handy for that bangin’ recipe — wowza.. looks great, doll!

    enjoy your practice today lover 🙂

  2. That quiche looks so good! I should make it for Ari when he comes home… he’s a huge mushroom head!

    Have a fantastic day, Megan!

Leave a Reply

